#ThankAPrincipal

It’s a tough gig, being a principal. Alternatively seen as a boss, friend, hero and heavy; many times within the same hour.  And it can come at you from a lot of different directions: students, teachers, parents, custodians, cafeteria workers, the neighbor across the street, a local business owner, or the checkout person at the grocery store.  But I love it.  And that is why I do it.  Figure out what you love to do and do that for a living and you’ll never work a day in your life.  We’ve all heard it.  For me it’s true.  I love going to “work.”  I love seeing the kids in the morning and the teachers getting ready in their classrooms.  I love getting my coffee and turning on the computer and getting ready for the day.  I’m concurrently anxious, excited, worried, and cautiously optimistic as each day begins.  That is the life of a principal.  Each day is different, each day is unique, and each day holds endless possibilities.  Most importantly, each day has students and teachers learning and laughing and a million things that could go wrong, but also a million things that could go right (and, thankfully, frequently do!).  That is the job of a principal.  I love my job.  Figure out what you love to do and do that for a living and you’ll never work a day in your life.  Done.  Happy Principal Appreciation Month Principals, and thank you for all you do.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar